I walked out this morning

“As I walked out one midsummer’s morning,
To view the fields and take the air,
Down by the banks of the sweet primroses,
There I beheld a most lovely fair.”

-The Banks of Sweet Primroses, old English folk song.

I walked out this morning and saw the sun in squares and rectangles and slim lines and black and white and slanting colours that slit the squares, gleamed on chrome, on white sails and made the blacks rich as wine. The sun surprised us all today coming out of days of cowled gloom. It was enough to energise me. Slashes of lightning in my limbs. It was long due. The numb lethargy I feel when the sun hides away was gone. So. As I said I went walking in my town and found it surprisingly beautiful. That was all I needed to stop being so introspective talking of aging and preservation of this sad body. Like those naked boys in poor countries who frolic in waters without a care I strode forth. My arthritic hips be damned, I thought. No I have not got arthritis, not yet; this is my way of daring the devil!

The above is just one of the many pictures I took because I was feeling generous with the world. I sat in the cafe at the end of my walk and had very strong coffee and a sausage roll. With the sail boats and yachts in front of me I could have been in any of the glamourous places of the world, where the smell of money mixes with the smell of perfume and the feint smell of the sewer water flowing into the sea.

There folks, I had to give you a glimps of the sunshine cupped in my hand. I finish with a gem of a poem I am at present studying. It is by Wang Zhi Huan from the Tang dynasty which flourished around 600 to 900 AD. A rich time full of poets. The poet here talks of climbing the White Heron Tower to get a better view. But I am sure a lot is lost in translation just as if you tried to translate Wordsworth to the bewildered Mongolese. But here goes:

“The white sun leans on the mountains as it sets
The Yellow River flows into the sea
Want to get the furthest (thousand mile) view
Go up another floor of the tower”

My lovely Chinese teacher tells me “go up another floor” has become a common phrase in Chinese.

This entry was published on August 28, 2015 at 12:15 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

